Social Media

#CDGA Awards: ‘Barbie,’ ‘Poor Things,’ ‘Saltburn’ Among Winners

Barbie, Poor Things and Saltburn were among the winners at the 2024 Costume Designers Guild Awards.

Barbie‘s Jacqueline Durran won excellence in sci-fi/fantasy film while Poor Things‘ Holly Waddington took the excellence in period film award, and Saltburn‘s Sophie Canale received the excellence in contemporary film trophy.

Both Barbie and Poor Things are nominated for the Oscar for best costume design, alongside fellow CDGA nominees Killers of the Flower Moon (Jacqueline West), Napoleon (Janty Yates and Dave Crossman) and Oppenheimer (Ellen Mirojnick).

In the TV categories, Beef, The Great and Ahsoka won excellence in contemporary, period and sci-fi/fantasy television, respectively.

Wendi McLendon-Covey hosted the CDGA Awards, where Annette Bening, Billie Eilish and Francine Jamison-Tanchuck were among the honorees.

Bening received the Spotlight Award, given to an actor whose talent and career personify an enduring commitment to excellence, including an awareness of the role and importance of costume design. She was honored by Nyad costume designer Kelli Jones and costume designer Albert Wolsky.

Eilish received the Vanguard Spotlight Award, given to a trailblazing performing artist who sets new standards both with their achievements and visionary courage and who sparks the imaginations of both industry insiders and audiences. Eilish was honored by Shirley Kurata, who designed the music video for Eilish’s Oscar-nominated Barbie soundtrack contribution, “What Was I Made For.”

Jamison-Tanchuck was given the Career Achievement Award by The Color Purple‘s Danielle Brooks.

The 26th CDGA Awards took place at NeueHouse in Los Angeles.

A complete list of this year’s winners follows.

Excellence in Contemporary Film

American Fiction – Rudy Mance

May December – April Napier

Nyad – Kelli Jones

Renfield – Lisa Lovaas 

Saltburn – Sophie Canale (WINNER)

Excellence in Period Film

Killers of the Flower Moon – Jacqueline West

Maestro – Mark Bridges

Napoleon – Janty Yates & Dave Crossman

Oppenheimer – Ellen Mirojnick

Poor Things – Holly Waddington (WINNER)

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film

Barbie – Jacqueline Durran (WINNER)

Haunted Mansion – Jeffrey Kurland

The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes – Trish Summerville

The Little Mermaid – Colleen Atwood & Christine Cantella

Rebel Moon – Part One: A Child of Fire – Stephanie Porter

Excellence in Contemporary Television

The Bear: Fishes – Courtney Wheeler

Beef: The Birds Don’t Sing, They Screech in Pain – Helen Huang; Austin Wittick, ACD; YJ Hwang, ACD (WINNER)

The Last of Us: Endure and Survive – Cynthia Ann Summers

The Morning Show: The Kármán Line – Sophie de Rakoff & Debra McGuire

Poker Face: The Orpheus Syndrome – Trayce Gigi Field

Excellence in Period Television

The Crown: Ritz – Amy Roberts

Daisy Jones & the Six: Track 8: Looks Like We Made It – Denise Wingate

George & Tammy: Two Story House – Mitchell Travers

The Gilded Age: You Don’t Even Like Opera – Kasia Walicka Maimone & Patrick Wiley

The Great: Choose Your Weapon – Sharon Long (WINNER)

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television

Ahsoka: Part Eight: The Jedi, the Witch, and the Warlord – Shawna Trpcic, Elissa Alcala, ACD (WINNER)

Loki: 1893 – Christine Wada

The Mandalorian: Chapter 22: Guns for Hire – Shawna Trpcic

What We Do in the Shadows: Pride Parade – Laura Montgomery

The Witcher: The Art of the Illusion – Lucinda Wright

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

A Black Lady Sketch Show: Peek-A-Boob, Your Titty’s Out – Michelle Page Collins, Wyandon Lubom, ACD (WINNER)

Dancing with the Stars: Monster Night – Steven Norman Lee & Daniela Gschwendtner

The Masked Singer: ’80s Night – Tim Chappel

The Masked Singer: One Hit Wonders Night – Marina Toybina & Steven Norman Lee

Saturday Night Live: Aubrey Plaza Host – Tom Broecker, Christina Natividad & Ashley Dudek 

Excellence in Short Form Design 

American Horror Story: Delicate | Official Teaser (Commercial) – Paula Bradley 

Blink 182 – DANCE WITH ME (Music Video) – Julie Vogel 

Great Acting or Great Taste – Pepsi (Commercial) – Heather Allison 

Jack’s New Angle (Doritos Superbowl) (Commercial) – Trayce Gigi Field 

Madonna X Vanity Fair – The Enlightenment (Short Film) – B. Åkerlund (WINNER)

Excellence in Costume Illustration

1923: War and the Turquoise Tide – Maggie S. Chan

Haunted Mansion – Barbra Araujo

The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Song Songbirds & Snakes – Oksana Nedavniaya

Loki: 1893 – Felipe Sanchez

Rebel Moon Part One: A Child of Fire – Jason Pastrana (WINNER)

If you liked the article, do not forget to share it with your friends. Follow us on Google News too, click on the star and choose us from your favorites.

If you want to read more Like this articles, you can visit our Social Media category.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Please allow ads on our site

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker!